Social Sciences: Geography

The Bureau of Meteorology provides several thousand products in a variety of formats using several delivery media. The "Basic Product Set" defines those products available free of charge to the public via the mass media and the Internet.

The U.S. Geological Survey's Cascades Volcano Observatory (CVO) strives to serve the national interest by helping people to live knowledgeably and safely with volcanoes and related natural hazards including earthquakes, landslides, and debris flows.

This site is a research tool for detection, mapping, measurement, and analysis of extreme flood events world-wide using satellite remote sensing

The USGS Earthquake Hazards Program is part of the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP), established by Congress in 1977. We monitor and report earthquakes, assess earthquake impacts and hazards, and research the causes and effects of earthquake.

Under the joint Australian Government-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA), assistance is provided to alleviate the financial burden on states and territories. It also supports the provision of urgent financial assistance to disaster affected communities.

VolcanoWorld was founded by in 1995. Since that time over fifty professionals and hundreds of students have contributed content or time to Volcano World.

The AAD advances Australia’s strategic, scientific, environmental and economic interests in Antarctica and the Southern Ocean.

Australia’s growth and way of life is underpinned by access to affordable and sustainable energy sources. Find out more about our diverse portfolio of research.

The Department implements Australian Government policies on the environment, heritage, water and climate action

Topics include: Biodiversity, Environmental Protection, Marine, Water, Climate Change, Heritage and National Parks.

The Renewable Resource Data Center (RReDC) provides access to an extensive collection of renewable energy resource data, maps, and tools. Biomass, geothermal, solar, and wind resource data for locations throughout the United States can be found through the RReDC.

A Nation, globally engaged and guided by science, meeting the challenges of climate and global change.

The collection supports a wide range of activities, including land and water management, ecology, archaeology, and military research.

The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Queensland Government resources for teachers who want to use spatial technologies in the classroom. Look for the Queensland Spatial Educators’ Toolkit, a free resource for primary, lower secondary and senior secondary teachers.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Give yourself or your students an overview on what spatial technologies are, how they work and what benefit they are to us all with these short, online videos.

The website provides peer reviewed articles by scientists, science educators, and science students on issues related to six bioscience content areas: environment, biodiversity, genomics, biotechnology, evolution, and science policy.

The Atlas of Living Australia is a collaborative, national project that aggregates biodiversity data from multiple sources and makes it freely available and usable online.

This website run by Biozone International Ltd is aimed at helping senior biology students and their teachers, providing high interest, annually updated resources that keep pace with the dynamic nature of biology today.

Includes a clickable world map of threatened areas of the world. Conservation International (CI) focuses its efforts on 25 biologically rich areas around the world under significant threat of destruction

Topics include: Biodiversity, Environmental Protection, Marine, Water, Climate Change, Heritage and National Parks.

With our partners worldwide we source, collate and verify information on biodiversity and ecosystems which we then synthesise and analyse to create knowledge fit for global decision making.

CARE Australia is an Australian charity and international humanitarian aid organisation fighting global poverty.

We are the UK government department responsible for policy and regulations on environmental, food and rural issues. Our priorities are to grow the rural economy, improve the environment and safeguard animal and plant health.

Online Geography resources.

Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California San Francisco.

Website to expand visibility of timely and relevant Federal HIV policies, programs, and resources to the American public.

UNAIDS, the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, is an innovative partnership that leads and inspires the world in achieving universal access to HIV prevention, treatment, care and support.

The WHO global burden of disease (GBD) measures burden of disease using the disability-adjusted life year (DALY). This time-based measure combines years of life lost due to premature mortality and years of life lost due to time lived in states of less than full health.

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters.

The World health report 2013 "Research for universal health coverage" argues that universal health coverage cannot be achieved without the evidence provided by scientific research.

Journey into the life of a child living in an AIDS-affected community.

Includes projects and publications. The Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE) is dedicated to the study of pressing global problems stemming from interactions between human activities, natural resources, and the environment.

From our oceans and coasts, landscapes and inland waters, to our atmosphere and climate, CSIRO research is helping to maintain the integrity of our environments and ensure our natural resources are used sustainably.

Topics include: Biodiversity, Environmental Protection, Marine, Water, Climate Change, Heritage and National Parks.

Development Gateway is a non-profit organization that provides information tools and services to support international development.

Ecospecifier has over 6,700 sustainable products making it one of the world's most expansive sustainable knowledge bases.

Low carbon living is about finding ways to reduce carbon emissions in the built environment. The information in this collection will help policy makers and practioners to design better solutions for buildings, cities and people.

The Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) accelerates development and facilitates deployment of energy efficiency and renewable energy technologies and market-based solutions that strengthen U.S. energy security, environmental quality, and economic vitality.

Our world, our future. The Lab's sustainable development gateway brings together ABC news, transcripts, features and forums.

CARE Australia is an Australian charity and international humanitarian aid organisation fighting global poverty.

Most hungry people live in countries that have food surpluses rather than deficits.

Our challenge: there is sufficient capacity in the world to produce enough food to feed everyone adequately.

This web site looks into global issues that affect everyone and aims to show how most issues are inter-related.

Addressing health problems and focusing attention on population and health policies.

This FAO report provides a general world review of the state of agriculture and explores in detail the lessons learned about world food and agriculture in the last 50 years.

The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development.

The 2012 GHI report focuses particularly on the issue of how to ensure sustainable food security under conditions of water, land, and energy stress.

The mission of World Hunger Education Service is to undertake programs, including Hunger Notes.

Great Artesian Basin Resource Study was commissioned by the Great Artesian Basin Consultative Council in 1997. This document is an updated version of the Resource Study.

With our partners we aim to deliver innovative solutions to the complex challenges that arise from the demands and impacts of human activities on the environment.

The Australian Government is providing national leadership on the challenges of meeting future demand for water in a drying climate.

Landcare is a national network of thousands of locally-based community groups who care for the natural resources of our country.

The Mekong River Commission (MRC) is the only inter-governmental agency that works directly with the governments of Cambodia, Lao PDR, Thailand and Viet Nam on their common specific interests—joint management of shared water resources and sustainable development of the Mekong River.

The Murray–Darling Basin Authority (MDBA) is part of the Environment portfolio, and reports to its minister. The MDBA undertakes activities that support the sustainable and integrated management of the water resources of the Murray-Darling Basin.

Our work includes: environmental flows, nutrient cycles, algal, fish and invertebrate ecology, macroinvertebrate and microinvertebrate taxonomy, and water quality assessment through biological and chemical monitoring programs.

Student and Teacher Murray River Project Information.

Topics include; The Cleaner Environment Plan, Biodiversity, Heritage, Marine, Sustainable communities, Water, Environment protection, Land, National Parks and Science and research.

Part of the Discover Murray website.

From environment Victoria.

To provide high quality, locally relevant, resources and support to communities to foster lifelong learning about waterways, catchments and sustainable living.

Waterwatch Victoria is a successful community engagement program connecting local communities with river health and sustainable water issues and management.

Neighbourhood plans are created by Brisbane City Council, with input from residents and business owners. They are legal documents that guide development in an area and sit within Council's planning scheme.

PD Online is Brisbane City Council's online system for planning and development applications and enquiries. Using this tool and training resources you will be able to find planning and development information in Brisbane.

This collection covers issues that are vital to regional Australia. It includes resources on communities, infrastructure, industries and the environment in rural and remote regions, collected by APO since 2002.

An overview on what spatial technologies are, how they work and what benefit they are to us all with these short, online videos.

Google Earth lets you fly anywhere on Earth to view satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings, from galaxies in outer space to the canyons of the ocean. For additional advanced tools, use Google Earth Pro for no extra charge.

Google Maps is a fantastic introduction to spatial technologies in a familiar environment. There are many ways to use the tool in the classroom. See video below.

Using Google Maps to map water quality data that you have collected.

NationalMap is a website for map-based access to spatial data from Australian government agencies. It is an initiative of the Department of Communications and the Arts now currently managed by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and the software has been developed by Data61 working closely with the Department of Communications and the Arts, Geoscience Australia and other government agencies.

NSW Globe displays New South Wales Government maps and spatial data including land parcels in Google Earth.

QGIS is an open-source GIS package that is quite powerful. The tool can open data from many file types including Google Earth and ESRI software like ArcGIS. This is for those who want to push their mapping to another level.

Search and download images from the Queensland Government’s online collection of photographs from the 1930’s to 2009. Use these images to investigate Queensland’s history and see how the landscape has changed over time. The photographs are available free to everyone for use as they require.

QTopo is an online mapping tool which allows users to view and explore Queensland's topographic data. Includes contours, roads and tracks, property boundaries and GIS tools.

The Queensland Globe provides an online interactive experience to view Queensland’s location based information. The Queensland Globe displays large amounts of data which may impact on your data plan usage.Use the Globe to access over 600 spatial data layers on Queensland roads, rail, property, topography, environment, mining, land parcels, water levels and more.

The Queensland Spatial Educators' Toolkit (QSET) is designed to inspire classroom teachers with ideas on how to use spatial technologies in the classroom while meeting the requirements of the Australian Curriculum. Primary, Lower Secondary and Senior Secondary.

Surveying is the measurement and mapping of our surrounding environment using mathematics and specialised technology. Land surveyors are involved with a diverse variety of projects from land subdivision to tunnel building and major construction.

BrisbaneDevelopment.com Brisbane's home of development and infrastructure news.

The bus system of Curitiba, Brazil, exemplifies a model Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) system, and plays a large part in making this a livable city.

Investigation of regionally significant transport links and travel patterns across western Brisbane.

As a wholly-owned subsidiary of Brisbane City Council, Brisbane Marketing has the responsibility of driving long-term social and economic benefits to Brisbane and the greater Brisbane region.

Ipswich Future Master Plan. Discussion Paper. A vision for Ipswich 2020 and Beyond.

Brisbane City Council's Priority Infrastructure Plan (PIP) is a long-term citywide plan that coordinates trunk infrastructure with land use planning.

Planning is being synchronised across Queensland - we support a coordinated approach to meet future priorities, needs and community expectations.

The current regional plan, the South East Queensland Regional Plan 2009-2031 (PDF icon 3.49 MB), refined and modified the strategic directions, principles and policies of the first statutory plan, in response to changing circumstances.

Toronto has North America's third largest public transit system after New York City and Mexico City.