Skip to Main Content

Library: Middle School

Tenison Woods College Library

How To?

Video explaining how to organise and save your work.

Online Research Resources

Online Databases
The Library subscribes to a range of databases such as Echoeducation, Britannica Online, eLibrary Science,  ANZ Reference Centre, ANZ Reference Points of View. Britannica Pathways HASS and Science.

ReadPlus
ReadPlus YA Literature database is a collection of selected books and films arranged under themes. The database provides lists, reviews and resources to help students and teachers to select great titles for reading. For young people 5 to18.

Please ask library staff for login details.

Nova Science

Interesting Information

Digital Citizenship

Year 8 Global Perspectives - Vikings

Year 8 Viking Lifestyle Research Assignment

The library has collected a box of resources for your classes to borrow and below are links with some research pathways that you might like to follow to find out more about your topic.

Databases

Database Password - TWCstudent

  • World Book Online

Vikings

Vikings - use the link above or use the search term Viking in World Book Online at the student level for a comprehensive overview of Vikings and Viking life. This includes images and links to related information.

Please ask library staff if you have issues accessing this resource

  • Britannica School

Choose the Middle level and use the search term Viking.  Select the option Viking People which will give you a comprehensive selection of resources to use.  Use the table of contents on the top left to quickly access the information you need.

Britannica

ClickView

The Vikings - The social organization, daily life, myths and beliefs of the main cultures of history

Beowulf - (BBC 3min) A bitesize telling of the story of Beowulf

YouTube

Ten Minute History - The Vikings

The Vikings , Crash Course World History 

Vikings Live - British Museum (comprehensive video, runs 89 min, worthwhile watching)

What's so special about Viking Ships?

The secret messages of Viking Runestones

What life was really like as a Viking (good video but does contain ads)

Websites

Norwegian Vikings

Vikings in Britain - BBC Bitesize History (good website, comprehensive, easy to read and interactive)

Vikings 

 

Premier's Reading Challenge

The Challenge requires students to read 12 books between the beginning of the school year and early September.

How do I complete the Challenge?

  • Get a Student Reading Record from your class teacher, or download one from the PRC website (click here ) .
  • Read 12 books- for Years Reception to 9

             - 8  books from the PRC booklist, and 4 of your own choosing 

  • Fill out your Student Reading Record as you go, and get an adult (parent/carer, librarian or teacher) to sign each one to verify that you read the book.
  • Hand the completed form to your class teacher by the due date
  • Wait for your award!

Useful Tips

RE: TV