The Arts: Film & Television

The Department of Communications advises the Australian Government and contributes to policy on content regulation issues for radio and television services.

Looking through the lens of a camera as actors bring to life a writer's story, the filmmaker is ... peering into a world of imagination. The director, producer, actors, screenwriter, and film editor are all essential players in the journey from concept to finished film

Masters of Cinema is an organic, international initiative founded in 2001 by four friends with a mutual interest in a particular type of filmmaker.

Metro magazine is published by the Australian Teachers of Media, (ATOM). ATOM also publishes Screen Education magazine; study guides and education kits.

Television broadcasters have the primary responsibility for ensuring that the material they broadcast reflects community standards.

Screen Australia is the Commonwealth Government screen agency providing support to Australian film, television, documentary and digital media makers.

This is a complete, free, award-winning course in television production. It consists of 70 interactive modules with more than 100 associated files, four types of tests, more than 800 color illustrations, and sound files.

The Australian Directors Guild (ADG) is an industry association representing the interests of film, television and digital media directors, documentary makers, animators, assistant directors and independent producers throughout Australia.

With more than 1,000 original essays, the Encyclopedia of Television examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes, and topics such as: Networks, Programs, Personalities, Trends, Policy Disputes, Genres, Themes, Subjects.

This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download

This library of academic and cultural films features collections from the Academic Film Archive and the Media Burn Independent Film Archive, as well as a selection of documentaries.

Ephemeral films are non-fiction films usually made for educational, industrial, or promotional purposes. Many of these films are available for free download.

Watch full-length feature films, classic shorts, world culture documentaries, World War II propaganda, movie trailers, and films created in just ten hours. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Collections of items recorded from television, including commercials, old television shows, government proceedings, and more.

The Internet Archive is working with multiple external parties, including the IGDA's Preservation SIG and Stanford University's How They Got Game Project to preserve all kinds of rare and difficult to source video files relating to videogames.

Videos created by (or which are about) teens and young adults are featured in the Youth Media collection.

These content rich education websites feature thousands of video and audio clips available for streaming and downloading.

Adlaw By Request delivers bi-weekly, up-to-date coverage of new developments affecting the advertising industry and provides a legal perspective on the significance of these developments.

The Australian Communications and Media Authority is the independent statutory authority tasked with ensuring most elements of Australia's media and communications legislation, related regulations, and numerous derived standards and codes of practice operate effectively and efficiently, and in the public interest.

Media Access Australia is Australia’s only independent not-for-profit organisation devoted to increasing access to media for people with a disability.

Everything the busy teacher needs to successfully teach film analysis to teenagers.

Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM) is an independent, non-profit, professional association promoting the study of media. The membership of ATOM primarily includes teachers and lecturers from across subject disciplines at all levels of education

Lesson plans for teachers in culture and the arts.

ATOM, through its publications arm (Metro Magazine and Australian Screen Education) produces study guides and educational kits for feature films, documentaries, television programmes, exhibitions, etc.