Online resources for Years 8 - 12: Aborginal & Torres Strait Islander Studies

Please find below some useful links on the topic of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies. (DB) denotes Database.

• 1967 Referendum Campaign

  The sources used on this site "provide information about the social and political background of the 1967 referendum, the Queensland state laws governing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander affairs at the time, the organisations and individuals at the forefront of campaigns.
• ABC - Indigenous

  ABC's online Indigenous gateway is a collaboration between the Indigenous departments of ABC Radio, Television and Online and is dedicated to giving voice to Indigenous Australians.
• Aboriginal Studies WWW Virtual Library

  Internet guide to Australian Aboriginal studies, with search engine, plus subject directory.
• AISTSIS

  Site created by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies. See links to Family History, Online Collections, the Little Red Yellow Black Site, Publications, Collections, Research and Aboriginal Studies Press
• Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)

  Resources in this collection cover topics such as access to literacy and numeracy, rural schools, education for Aboriginal Australians, early childhood education, critical pedagogies, learning strategies, teacher resilience and more.
• AusAnthrop Australian Aboriginal tribal database

  A reference database on Australian Aboriginal tribes, nations, languages and dialectal groups.(DB)
• Australian Indigenous family history - NLA

  Births, Deaths and Marriages, Mission and reserve records, Military History, Newspapers for family history, Pictures and photographs.
• Australian Indigenous language collections - NLA

  The National Library's Manuscripts collection contains original written records relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their languages. These records provide a glimpse of the approximately 250 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages of Australia.
• Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)

  Information is included about the resources and collections of AIATSIS, including Mura (AIATSIS catalogue), family history sources, and the Australian Indigenous Cultural Network. There are also web links to subjects such as education, children and families, health, languages, land rights and native title, and law.
• BlackWords

  BlackWords researches and records a diverse range information about the lives and works of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and storytellers and the literary cultures and traditions that formed and influenced them
• Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research

  The Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research (CAEPR) is Australia’s foremost social science research body focusing on Indigenous economic and social policy from a national perspective.
• Indigenous language map

  This map is just one representation of other map sources that are available for describing Aboriginal Australia. This map indicates only the general location of larger groupings of people which may include smaller groups such as clans, dialects or individual languages in a group.
• Indigenous Voices of Queensland

  Indigenous Voices of Queensland is an online resource of rare, archival recordings of Indigenous languages of Queensland. The languages were recorded by Elwyn Flint, an academic of the English department at UQ in the 1960s. The interactive map allows students to listen to the traditional languages spoken in different parts of Queensland.
• Indigenous Weather Knowledge

  The website is a formal recognition of traditional weather and climate knowledge that has been developed and passed down through countless generations by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
• The Koori Mail Online Collection

  Provides access to scanned copies of the Koori Mail, a national fortnightly newspaper focusing on the Indigenous people of Australia. (DB)
• The Little Red Yellow Black Website

  We welcome you to The Little Red Yellow Black Website, an online gateway to The Little Red Yellow Black Book: An introduction to Indigenous Australia. This is a site for anyone wanting an introduction to the rich history and contemporary culture of Indigenous Australia.
• National Native Title Tribunal

  The National Native Title Tribunal (“Tribunal”) is an impartial, independent administrative agency. Established by the Native Title Act 1993 (Cwlth) (“NTA”), the Tribunal came into operation in January 1994.
• Owning our History

  This guide aims to provide insights and materials to assist teachers in addressing what can be suggested as the little known history around first contact; the conflicts that occurred across Australia between those living in Australia and those coming to Australia from the 1770’s; and how the critical issues such as dispossession, marginalization and injustices continue to impact on the lives of Aboriginals today
• Recognise

  The people's movement to recognise Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the Australian Constitution and to ensure that it is free from racial discrimination.
• Reconciliation Australia

  As part of our reconciliation journey, there are truths to tell, stories to celebrate, and relationships to grow.
• Share our Pride

  Website gives an insight into the history, lives and cultures of Australia's First People.
• SLQ - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Queensland

  Locate resources of interest to Aboriginal people, Torres Strait Islanders and general users interested in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander related matters, from the State Library of Queensland.
• Torres Strait Islands Collection - NLA

  This guide is sorted into the five major island clusters in the Torres Straits Region. It highlights collection items already on the National Library of Australia's catalogue.
• What Works: The Work Program

  The Work Program helps schools plan and take action to improve educational outcomes for Australian indigenous students.