Online resources for Years 8 - 12: Politics & Government

Please find below some useful links on the topic of Politics and Government. (DB) denotes Database.

• Australia's Prime Ministers

  The National Archives of Australia has created this website to: enhance understanding of Australia's national leadership and political history, provide a view of our political history from the top and through the documents dealt with by each of the Prime Ministers of Australia.
• The Australian Constitution

  Povides a full text version (in HTML) of the 1998 printing of the Australian constitution.
• Australian Electoral Commission

  The AEC is responsible for conducting federal elections and referendums and maintaining the Commonwealth electoral roll.
• Australian Federal, State, Territory and Local Governments

  This is a whole-of-government single point of access (portal) that provides access to Internet-based government information and services across federal, State, Territory and Local levels.
• Australian Government

  The australia.gov.au website is your connection with government in Australia. It links to information and services on around 900 Australian Government websites as well as selected state and territory resources. Australia.gov.au also searches over four million web pages from Australian, state and territory governments.
• Australian Politics and Elections Database

  A database of information on elections, government and periods in office. It has been created by researchers at the University of Western Australia and is intended for anyone who wants to find out general information about Australian government and politics. (DB)
• Australian politics and government - NLA

  You can find information about how government works in Australia through a number of official websites
• Australian Prime Ministers

  Australian Prime Ministers brings together cultural, community and contemporary resources from around the nation for the most complete picture of Australia’s prime ministers.
• Australian Strategic and Policy Institute (ASPI)

  Publications on Australian policy; strategic and defence issues.
• Open Australia

  A website containing information on the latest activities of the Australian Parliament, including Senate debates and House debates. Also includes information on the members of the Senate and House of Representatives.
• Parliamentary Library

  The Parliamentary Library is part of the Department of Parliamentary Services and provides services to senators, members, their staff, the staff of parliamentary departments and the Governor-General. The first library services were delivered to federal parliament in 1901 and continue to provide significant support to parliament and the democratic process.
• Parliament of Australia

  The Parliament consists of two Houses (the House of Representatives and the Senate), and the Queen, represented in Australia by the Governor General.
• Prime Minister of Australia's official website

  This website is managed and maintained by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet in Canberra, Australia.

Please find below some useful links on the topic of Politics and Government. (DB) denotes Database.

• Presidents of the United States

  Brief biographies and photographs of every US President to date.
• United Nations Treaty Collection (UNTC)

  Treaties, international agreements and multilateral instruments registered, filed or recorded by the United Nations.
• UK Treaties Online

  Details of Treaties involving the UK including place and date of signature and entry into force date.
• VCE Global politics units 3 & 4

  This guide will assist you to locate relevant resources for your VCE Global politics units. The guide highlights books and articles that can be accessed online, and search strategies to efficiently access relevant information. SLV also has extensive collections of current journals accessible online. We also collect ebooks in this subject area.