Online resources for Years 8 - 12: Legal Studies & Criminology

Please find below some useful links on the topic of Legal Studies. (DB) denotes Database.

• Administrative Appeals Tribunal

  The Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) provides independent review of a wide range of administrative decisions made by the Australian Government and some non-government bodies. The AAT also reviews decisions of the Norfolk Island Government.
• Administrative Law (Attorney-General's Department)

  Administrative law is the body of law that regulates government decision making. Access to review of government decisions is a key component of access to justice.
• Administrative Review Council

  The role of the Administrative Review Council ‘is to ensure that our system of administrative review is as effective and significant in its protection of the citizen as it can be’.
• AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute)

  Key source of Australian legal information. (DB)
• Federal Register of Legislation

  The Federal Register of Legislation (the Legislation Register) is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them.
• High Court of Australia

  The High Court is the highest court in the Australian judicial system.
• JADE (Judgments and Decisions Enhanced)

  Jade is a current awareness service that collects recent decisions of selected Australian Courts and Tribunals into an enhanced database. Although all basic Jade features are free, registration is required to use the customiseable options.
• Lawcite

  Lawcite is a freely available case citator service developed by Austlii. It is used to locate judgements, to find how a decision has been subsequently dealt with and to identify journal articles referring to the case.
• Lawlex

  Search all Australian legislation from one site. All principal legislation is categorised under the Lawlex subject index. This includes Acts, Bills, Regulations, Plans and By-laws. The subject index includes 29 categories with subcategories as relevant to those principal categories.
• Legal Database

  The Legal Database is a collection of legal and policy information. Here you have access to much of the material the Australian Tax Office uses when making decisions, including: Legislation and supporting material, Public Rulings and Determinations, Case Decision Summaries (details of important decisions made by the ATO), ATO Practice Statements (directions to ATO staff on how to apply the laws administered by the Commissioner), Tax related case law.
• Migration Review Tribunal & Refugee Review Tribunal

  The Migration Review Tribunal (MRT) and Refugee Review Tribunal (RRT) conduct merit reviews of visa and visa-related decisions made by the Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection.
• National Domestic and Family Violence Bench Book

  Magistrates, judges, victims and support officers nationwide can now refer to a one-stop reference guide about domestic and family violence.
• New South Wales legislation

  This is the official New South Wales Government legislation website provided by the Parliamentary Counsel's Office.
• Parliamentary Library

  The Parliamentary Library is part of the Department of Parliamentary Services and provides services to senators, members, their staff, the staff of parliamentary departments and the Governor-General. The first library services were delivered to federal parliament in 1901 and continue to provide significant support to parliament and the democratic process.
• Public Safety and Law

  Find government legislation and information to help you with legal issues. Includes consumer protection, fraud, online security, scams, emergency services, legislation, police and rights.
• Queensland Courts

  Access to judgments from the Queensland Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, District Court and Planning and Environment Court. Also includes access to legislation, forms, practice directions, callover, daily law lists and court calendars as well as the Supreme Court Library catalogue. (DB)
• Queensland government: Your rights, crime and the law

  Includes law, rights, legislation, crime, police and court system.
• Queensland Judgments

  The object of the Queensland Judgments website is to publish, on behalf of the principal courts and tribunals of Queensland, an authoritative, complete and functional collection of Queensland case law (including the Queensland Reports) which can be made available to the community free of charge.
• Queensland Legislation (Office of the Qld Parliamentary Counsel)

  Provides fulltext access to Queensland legislation including Queensland Acts and Subordinate legislation as in force plus superseded reprints, Queensland Acts as passed, Subordinate legislation as made, Queensland Bills as well as Repealed legislation. (DB)
• RefWorld

  Refworld is the leading source of information necessary for taking quality decisions on refugee status. Includes foreign law legislation
• South Australia - Crime, justice and the law

  Courts, prison, the legal system, crime, road rules.
• Victoria Law & Justice

  Includes births, deaths and marriages, ombudsmen, courts, parking fines, police checks, consumer rights, statutory declarations, Commissioners and legislation for Victoria.